Winding down and winding up!

Some people like their yarn in skeins. Some people like it in cakes. But I often wind mine into balls. Even if I start with a center-pull skein, eventually it gets tangles and the easiest thing for me is to wind it into balls. I can watch TV and wind yarn until I’m done. And I’ve gotten pretty good at it! They’re usually fairly spherical when I finish. Now if only I had a yarn bowl…

This month has been crazy busy! But the main project I’ve been working on is a knit sweater. I’ve never knit a sweater before and it’s going pretty well. It’s a simple pattern – rather like a T-shirt – and I made it so I didn’t have to purl, just knit. The bottom part is knit in the round and the top part is in garter stitch.

And it’s made out of dishcloth cotton yarn!

new sweater

new sweater

The blue is trim around the hem, the cuffs, and the neckline. I’m on the last sleeve and very anxious to finish it!

Go out and push yourself. Try a craft you’ve never tried before. Paper mache? Beading? Quilling? You just might find a new favorite obsession!

Let’s go create something.

Leave a Reply

