…and the hits just keep on coming!

So, I have CFIDS, we’ve established that. Part of what that means is that my immune system is out of whack. Short story – I get a lot of opportunistic infections.

This week on Opportunistic Infections… Let’s spin the wheel and see what you’ve won!

(drum roll please while we spin the Wheel of Infection)

Ringworm AND conjunctivitis. That’s right, it’s Double Disease Week and I’ve won the prize!

Now, there is an upside to this – the Dr. says I’m horribly contagious and that I need to stay home. So I says, “You mean I can’t go to work?” and they says, “Oh, no! Not till Monday at least!” and I thinks, “gosh. what a shame. snark!”

So here I am at home, on the couch and bound to stay here for a while. Being a Chronic Creator, it’s not like I have nothing to do. There’s the half-finished baby blanket, the suit that needs tailoring, the three shirts I promised to make for Greg, the quilt I have partially cut out, the scarf I’m knitting for next winter (or maybe the winter after that)… the list is endless. But I have promised myself a weekend of making tatted snowflakes. I recently taught myself to needle tat. I didn’t really learn from scratch, as I had tatted with a shuttle years ago, so this was a new technique, not a whole new craft. At any rate, I find it easy, fast, and comforting (predictable patterns make me happy.) I started with tatting a bookmark, moved on to a piece of lace for a collar, and am now working on snowflakes for the Christmas tree. Take a look! There are free patterns all over the internet!

My first two are not spectacular. My tension is inconsistent and needs work. And I see I crossed the wrong way on one loop of the intertwined snowflake. But that’s OK! Once I starch them and block them, they’ll be fine.

interwoven snowflake


Never be afraid to try something new! You might hate it, you might find a new obsession! (yeah. cause I need another obsession.)

Let’s go create something!

Leave a Reply

